I began last Wednesday fully intending to go to class. However, that was before I saw the day’s paper and its front page title of, "UC Regents vote to increase fees 32 percent today." I had no idea that the percentage of the proposed fee increase was so high! I was so shocked that I spent a goodly amount of time just staring at the title before I could even begin reading the article! Like the majority of my fellow UC students, I am not made of money and I'm struggling to pay my tuition as it is; if they increase fees by another third I'm going to have to start seriously considering whether or not I can afford to continue going to college.
Everyone is saying that the economy is hard right now and that it is affecting everyone, including the university. I understand that, but when I look around on campus I have to wonder if the university understands it too. We have all been aware of the economic situation for a long while and I, along with my friends and neighbors, have tightened my belt accordingly. In contrast, the university has chosen to expand the law school and begin renovations of the MU. If the university is being affected in the same way that we are why doesn't it react like every other person out there faced with money troubles and adapt its spending habits?
I was under the impression that a place of higher learning would be run by people with an education, you know - people with critical thinking skills and an understanding of cause and effect? Apparently I was wrong. Instead of making plans for how to survive on less, funds are simply cut and the students and faculty are left to flounder as they attempt do more with less. And at the same time hugely expensive and completely unnecessary projects like the MU renovations are taken on. It just doesn’t make sense.